Cataclysm: A Pleasant Lassitude

I don’t know what it is about Cataclysm but I find myself slowing down, not really in a bad way I just don’t feel any urgency to quest, to gear up, any of the things I did in past expansions. It could be that playing when all the other older players are at work or being in a one and one half person guild could have this effect but those conditions occurred in past expansions too and I did feel the need to level, gear, whatever.

It might be knowing that if I don’t race with the pack I will still be able to complete a zone because outside of Crucible of Carnage I haven’t run into any group quests so the need to be in the first wave so that there will be people to do quests with is gone. My poor warlock who was born in May 2010 spent a lot of time and repair bills trying to do the two first bosses in the Amphitheatre of Anguish alone to complete the zone, first boss was fine, second maybe eight tries, lol. The fact that new players will be able to complete a zone is nice, I like it, although I do miss the group quests.

Maybe it’s all the random flying around for Archaeology, I feel disconnected from the rest of the world, I have a whole other agenda now, digging up stuff and along the way I stop to look at the sights. I’ve never had the patience in the past to actually grind the mats when I wanted to make something. I have now, and happily I might add, personally collected 125 volatile airs to make two rings, I would never have done that in the past but now I seem to be happy grinding air for a while in Uldum then taking a fly around checking for the Mysterious Camel Figurine and then … just … fishing, yes fishing.

One of the changes I don’t like is the segregation. Were the Alliance and the Horde getting too cozy? With all the apparent strife in Azeroth (how can there not be with Garrosh Hellscream and Varian Wrynn in charge, I mean geez, two bigger hotheads you’d be hard-pressed to find) I guess we can’t get together in a place like Shatt or Dalaran anymore. I miss it, it was the only time I could /wave and /hug my friends that changed sides.

Is this just me? Is this intentional on Blizzard’s part, some kind of grand plan that I can’t see or is this something that just happens to you by your third expansion? Oh well, it’s off to that nice beach over by Schnottz’s Landing for me. I’m going to set out my umbrella and drink my South Island Iced Tea and think about it some more or not, whatever.

2 Responses to “Cataclysm: A Pleasant Lassitude”

  1. Tbh I always hated group quests. Must admit to being a bit of a loner in game. Oh I chat a lot with guildies and friends (which I absolutely love), but I much prefer to quest or do stuff alone and find that if I’m questing in a group I can’t go at my own pace (which is nice and slow). With Cataclysm that feeling of nice and slow has grown, rather than made me wanna rush through stuff. And I love fishing – I find it really relaxing. Not tried Archaeology on Salad yet but looking forward to it :)

    Lol – Amphitheatre of Anguish – that brings back memories tryna solo that :)

    Like you the one thing I really dislike about this expansion is the fact that Dalaran has gone from a thriving buzzing place to be – to a ghost town overnight. Such a shame.

    • Lol, to be honest I had a love/hate relationship with group quests. I remember trying to down Durn the Hungerer in Nagrand. Everyone running willy-nilly out of range of the healer, restarting without the whole group back from the corpse run, dying again and again, no communication. Those kind of groups I don’t miss so much but I did The Ring of Blood there with a great group of people.

      I think you’d like Archaeology then, on my druid I love it but then she started getting rares almost immediately my hunter just got her first rare at 220, yay!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

