Player Perception of Class Strength

I’ve been wondering about this for quite some time. It’s a phenomenon I started noticing a few years ago. Players treat my cat form Druid differently than my other characters. I couldn’t think of a more appropriate title, I really don’t think other players perceive the cat as lacking in strength but they sure do have a tendency to try to protect it.

It doesn’t have anything to do with gender, all my characters with one recent exception are female. My Warlock, Shaman, Death Knight, and Hunter never have players jumping into the fray to defend them although some of them could use the help. Yesterday while doing the Firelands dailies I was once again rescued from those evil spiders by a Death Knight. Kitty was in no danger whatsoever and said Death Knight almost bought a ticket to a brief stay in Azerothian heaven because of it. And I know, I know, Death Knights are evil and he was probably trying to steal a kill, nope they were all gray to him as I’d tagged them all on purpose to try to speed up the spider killing. Anyway, a shout out to The Templar Knights. You have a very nice animal loving Death Knight on your roster.

I don’t know, look at her, does she look defenseless or helpless, or is it just because she’s a cat. When my druid was young, leveling through Hillsbrand she made a friend. When I logged in and he was on, he’d usually come to protect her while she quested or ask if she needed help. She really didn’t but this Fury Warrior seemed to like to protect that cat. Maybe being protective comes with the territory when you’re a Warrior.

I’ve done some googling to try to find information about this but I’m doing it wrong because I can’t find anything relating to this cat phenomenon. Any other Druids out there noticed this? Maybe my Shaman should start running around in dangerous areas in Ghost Wolf form to test this, I wonder if WoW players are as protective of canines as they are of cats. Whatever the reason, a collective thank you to all those who have stepped up to defend the cat!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

