Kitties, a Year in Review, and What to Do

Yeah … no. I got nothing. I was going to put Kitten Standard in the title but that would have been implying that I had some deep thoughts on the topic, which I don’t, so just kitties. I’ve been reading blogs and I see the points on both sides, just a sea of gray as usual. Not that I can’t still get passionate about issues. Show me a politician of ANY flavor and I’ll get out the pitchfork but I’m not sure what to think about this yet. On the one hand, if sanctioned gold selling stopped hackers from stealing accounts then I’m all for it. On the other hand, I hate free to play games and this is, to me, the first (maybe not first but first I couldn’t ignore) rumble of things to come. I know games have a limited shelf-life, but I don’t want to be reminded. What? Sticking my head in the sand? Well, yeah, lol. Why do you think I spend so much time in WoW, I come here to avoid rl issues. I don’t want any negativity here too. So anyway, I’ll keep reading what smarter minds have to say about it.

Speaking of free to play, I’ve been trying out Glitch. Well, I don’t think I’ve actually been in the world more than 20 minutes but I am training the hell out of all the skills. Every time I check email I see I’ve finished learning something so I learn something else. I know the expectation is that I’ll enter the world and do something, and then spend real money for a new outfit but the joke’s on them. I’m probably not going to, but I sure like learning all those skills. I’m getting a big sense of accomplishment for free. But you said you hate free to play! I do, on some level I must think that I’m getting back at them by signing up and then refusing to buy gold with real money. Take that, stupid little free to play game. Sheesh, I’ll calm down in a minute. It’s just that when I checked Facebook this morning I had all these requests to send friends all kinds of crap in games that I don’t play but I signed up for so they could have more “friends”, sigh … it’s okay, I’m alright now, don’t want to turn this into a rant.

I noticed that this blog is almost a year old. I remember the reason I started was because I just couldn’t wait for Cataclysm and I had no one to squee about it with, so I decided to subject all of you to my squeeing about WoW. I looked at some of the old posts, shudder, I was doing the Argent Tournament dailies this time last year. I was slowing going insane from it. It’s true, if you looked me up you’d see I’m officially branded insane, and not from what you think … it’s was the Argent Tournament that did it. Must have every pet, must have more heirlooms. Strangely, I opened up all of the Firelands vendors and then just quit. If I do dailies it’s Tol Barad dailies, must have mounts.

What to do now. I have abandoned projects. My male worgen experiment is sitting at level 18 and not very happy about it. I started a personal challenge, level a mage to 85. I now have a goblin mage at 17, but it’s not been much fun as it’s stupid easy leveling with heirlooms. I started a druid Ironman, she’s level 12 I think. I wanted to see if I could do it with a melee character, I’m just all over the place.

I think I remember Döra warning me about this. Alternative leveling is addictive and I just need to come up with the right one. Hmm, now there’s a job for Ironsally, research. I’ll get her on that, fire up the Google Sally.

2 Responses to “Kitties, a Year in Review, and What to Do”

  1. Blimey – I thought your blog was older than mine – I thought you were a veteran blogger, but you’re a baby just like me – squeee! :D Happy almost one year old blog birthday! lol

    I’m a bit with you on the free to play game thing, although I must admit to jumping into ‘DDO’ now and again. And what is it with the current trend that we must all have millions of ‘friends’?

    You carrying on with the druid ironman? I would love to hear someones take on how they manage on this challenge with a melee char.

    btw – keep it under your hat but I’ve had a flash of brilliance that may keep Nerfiron in the game for a little while longer :) It was something you said in an earlier post or comment that gave me the idea, so thanks :). Bit embarrassing given my post today about throwing in the towel – lol – but I am suddenly feeling much more buoyant. I will probably post about it tomorrow.

    • Yes, when you had your blog birthday I was surprised that our blogs were about the same age!

      I guess they want us to enlist friends that will spend money on gold since I’m such a disappointment to them, lol.

      Of all the things I have going the druid Ironman seems (until it gets horrible) the most interesting. There’s no way to tell yet as she’s too low a level to know how hard it will be.

      OH! That’s great!! I’ll be interested to read the post! Yay! I hope it helps and she can continue. Don’t be embarrassed, Sally had a meltdown at 84 and a half and then she sheepishly got to 85 and felt pretty silly. I found the Ironman causes huge mood swings!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

