SWTOR: Lost in Space … port

Stuck on Dromund Kaas

In her hurry to see everything, my bounty hunter rushed off to Dromund Kaas without seeing the quest for the first flashpoint, Black Talon. After looking around town she headed back to Dromund Kaas Spaceport to try to get a shuttle back to the Imperial Fleet.  She wandered around forever; she took the elevation to the docking bay and unsuccessfully tried to board a shuttle. I logged out and back in. I looked it up in-game and out of game. All I got was, go to the docking bay and click on the shuttle door to leave planet. Hmmm, I finally decided to look for other elevators, although I was SURE I was where I had arrived. Not. There was another docking bay with a functioning shuttle. So if you’re ever stuck there, look for another elevator, docking Bay 0-17 is the correct one.

I picked up the quest for Black Talon. I responded to a LFG, and then we got two more. Ready to go. The LFG originator then dropped group, they didn’t say why and the rest of us were off.  I don’t know much about the talents of companions other than the bounty hunter’s Mako, but one of the other two in the group had a pet that did the tanking. I was trying to pay attention to the flashpoint but it was hard. The companion tank kept melting to the group and leaping back up. Kind of like a melty feign death. I don’t know if this was some kind of a glitch or he was working as intended but I was mesmerized by it and had a hard time taking my eyes off him.

The Black Talon was a lot of fun. And I’m saying that totally without being influenced by my bounty hunter’s luck in getting some lovely new boots. I wish I could tell you more about it; I’ll have to do it again on my Sith Warrior and hopefully not get distracted by any companion antics.

Light/Dark

Okay, I’ve given up on my bounty hunter; she’s just a big Pollyanna. She’s one mean killing machine … apparently with a heart of gold. So in my quest for pure evil I created a Sith Warrior, yeah, now she’s GOT to be evil, right? Not really, I am trying but she’s sitting smack in the middle. I know, I know, she shouldn’t have taken off her companion’s shock collar. I’m really enjoying the character choices between right/wrong/indifference. Although I don’t RP, I definitely want my character to have a personality. I have a clear sense of my character’s personality in SWTOR, and I have it very early on in game.

Classes

I was hesitant to create a warrior, I’ve never gotten one past level 20 but I think I will this time. This Sith is turning out to be a lot of fun. I went Sith Juggernaut but I’m going down the Vengeance tree so she seems to be more of a Tank/DPS hybrid than a pure tank.  I haven’t figured her out yet, she can kick butt, she’s incredibly hardy in spite of not having a full set of heavy armor yet but she can’t hold aggro, her companion keeps pulling mobs off her, how embarrassing.

My bounty hunter is wonderfully fun to play; I live for the cooldown to be off Death from Above, the absolute best ability ever, the damage is awesome and the animation even better. I think if they nerf it I would have a senior nerd rage it’s that fun.

A Jedi Knight and Jedi Consular were also created as a result of the peak hours queue. I tried to find another server that wasn’t as popular, as my backup. So in true altoholic fashion I already have 4 characters.  Neither Jedi has gotten to level ten yet so I don’t have much of a feel for either class. Hopefully I’ll stop jumping around long enough to learn at least one class well. Oh hey, it could happen, really, maybe.

4 Responses to “SWTOR: Lost in Space … port”

  1. Honestly, my Bounty Hunter’s personality didn’t solidify until about 3/4ths of the way through Dormund Kaas. I started out with “He always finishes the job he gets hired to do” and that was about it. He’s not really bloodthirsty, he’s a weapon. What people do with him? That’s their business. But generally if he explicitly isn’t told to kill, he doesn’t. Which follows the Bounty Hunter Creed in Star Wars… something I plan to do a post about soon.

    I’m actually quite antsy myself about doing a Sith Warrior because I honestly have two personalities in mind for him. One more suited for a Juggernaut that wants to make the galaxy a better place without the republic OR empire and will crush those in his way and I have one for a Sith Marauder that is a staunch bloodthirsty loyalist to the empire modeled slightly after Darth Angral in the comics. In all likeliness, I’ll do the Marauder first and then level a Juggernaut on another server to see how it plays out. Maybe. I dunno.

    Finally, if you’re looking for a server that isn’t so densely populated, you can always try Begeren Colony where I’m playing. It’s an RP server, although at this juncture no one seems to care. I see plenty of Killbludgod and Superawesomeman kind of names. I expect a lot of this is just because the game is fresh and no one cares about RP at this juncture. But I’ve never had to wait in a queue! :P

    • I’m actually fine with my bounty hunter now. If she wants to be a killer with a soft heart I guess I’ll have to go along with it. My sith warrior is kind of a pain in the ass, not someone I’d want as a friend but not as evil as I had planned but I was surprised how much I enjoy playing her.

      I might try that, although I’m always intimidated by RP servers. I feel like a slacker when it comes to back stories and lore. I’m so not used to 30 or 40 minute queues, it’s been a long time since there was a queue on Fenris!

  2. Why or why did I come & read this! I swore I would stay away from all things SWTOR so I wouldn’t be tempted but now it’s too late!! How are you finding the game generally?

    • I’m sorry for tempting you! I’m really enjoying it so far but as usual I’m getting distracted by too many characters. I just keep making them to hear the story from different sides.

      There are a LOT of cut scenes explaining the stories. I like that your character has response choices that gives you a sense of them.

      The only drawback so far is I seem to have made my home on a really popular server. At 7:00AM there was a half hour queue, my backup server was almost as bad. So I just made a smuggler on a server with an unpronounceable name hoping that no one will want that one, lol.

      I even tanked the first instance with my Juggernaut, not well, but we got through it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

