The Joy of Noob

OMG! For the love of all that is holy don’t do what I did. Warning! There are these itty bitty icons on the lower left of the SWTOR loading screen. You use them to select things like Preferences, Servers, etc. I got up this morning early and logged in sneakily and quietly, hoping to avoid dog detection. I myopically stared at the icons and selected what I thought was the server icon … it was not, it was the freaking credits. Are they serious, it went on and on, I couldn’t find any way to end it. I think I waited until they started listing the guys that drive the snack trucks and finally had to Alt F4 out of the game. So beware and don’t get stuck in the scrolling credits of unending doom.

Wait, what? Is this yet another character? Well yes it is; a smuggler. I felt my Republic side was under-represented so I thought I’d try one. This is not a class I thought I’d like, but hey, got to try them all, right? I was questing in the starting area and was having the best time ever. I’m running and jumping and taking cover all over the place. I finally notice that I’m hitting keys and nothing’s happening, what’s up with that … I continue on, killing and running and ducking behind boulders. FINALLY, I notice that my quickslot bar CHANGES when I take cover, kind of like shifting forms in WoW. Oh my, L2P STWOR noob. She’s only level 6 but so far I really like her, while the Inquisitor who I had high hopes for, at this point at least, I’m not feeling her.

My Juggernaut tanked her first flashpoint. I’ve done Black Talon twice now with rag-tag groups, one all dps and a pet tanked (he did it much better than my juggernaut), the second time me as a noob tank, again no healer. My tanking debut was fraught with hangs at the cut scenes, I stood in the fire and died on one boss, we all died on another and the thing is it was incredibly fun.

I spend a half an hour running around Kaas City trying to find the Dromund Kaas Commendation vendor. You can’t imagine the thrill on finding her, a shiny new gun, what every Bounty Hunter wants.

I’m having an amazing time in SWTOR. This is the time that long time WoW players miss. Doing instances with whatever group you can get together. Being lost, discovering new places, Npcs, game mechanics. It’s all new and wonderful. WoW is my long time relationship, I’m not leaving the humor, the beautiful world I love, but I can’t get back that noob feeling, I know WoW too well. It’s not WoW’s fault it’s just life and WoW will always be my home. Have I found a second home? I don’t know, time will tell. I’ve done this before and no second home has lasted more than a few months.

Right now though, I’m going to enjoy the hell out of being a noob again. I don’t know how long this will last. I hope it’s a while. I’m kind of worried. I saw a LFG who was insisting on having a competent healer, not in exactly those words though. If they allow addons at some point I think things will go downhill fast. Give people the ability to measure things and the my … Dps is bigger than yours will start, but for now I’m just going to revel in being totally clueless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

