She likes to lay naked and be gazed upon

This post is for my husband. My husband doesn’t play WoW, much to my regret. He doesn’t read this blog either. But sometimes he’s on the Mac doing his thing, so he’s often aware of what I’m doing over here on this computer. He heard me picking music on YouTube for a post. Asked what I was doing. I told him I sometimes add a link to a music video in a post.

Now my husband listens to a lot of music, I do too, but I’m always listening while doing something. He’s the kind of listener who puts on music, turns off the lights, places himself in the room at the exact position for optimal audio mojo or whatever, and listens while doing nothing but listening.

So anyway, he asks what music I was linking. I told him, and he said why not Hayes Carll? He’s a big Hayes Carll fan, among others. I said it just doesn’t fit with the post. He didn’t seem very happy about it. I want to make him happy so here’s Drunken Poet’s Dream with a suitable screen shot. My favorite part of the song is the “she likes to lay naked and be gazed upon” part which my Druid indeed does like to do. In cat form of course.

But now that you’re here and I’m talking about my husband, I want your opinion. When we met, my husband was very much a white, beige, black, brown, kind of guy. After we got married I know he was horrified when I painted every room with vivid colors and started hanging all the things on the walls.

He is really very tolerant. He’s grown used to all the color. But he still thinks some of the stuff I hang on walls is just wrong. I just wanted your opinion. I hung this piece of clothing in the red room because I think it’s beautiful. He thinks it borders on lunacy. Is he right?

I was going to hang slippers up too but I didn’t want to push him over the edge so it was a compromise. In the room I work in there is a dead cow head on the wall wearing a Micky Mouse hat. I mean … you know … just the skeleton, not a stuffed cow head. I mean yeah, that would be creepy. I found the skeleton at an antique store in Pennsylvania and I was afraid that people looking for antiques wouldn’t buy the poor cow skeleton head so I bought him. You can imagine how pleased my husband was when I gleefully showed him my find. Now he’s used to me.

Another bone of contention, sleigh bells. I love them. No I didn’t get them when I got my skull. These were a gift from someone who knew about my wall hanging fetish. Okay, I’ve gone pretty far afield. I’ll stop now. But what do you think. Should I not being hanging this stuff on the walls? Is it really that weird?

What? Well, he IS my KING after all. Oh come oh, like you don’t have a portrait of Thrall over the TV?

P.S. Hope Navimie doesn’t catch me using the naked trick again ;)

18 Responses to “She likes to lay naked and be gazed upon”

  1. No, it’s not wierd. Period. Looks rather good imo. Besides, I’m the kinda guy who once painted 3 walls in his living room a beautiful royal-type burgundy, with the ceiling and one wall (opposite the main window) a golden color. Amazing what a warm, rich glow that room always had.

    • Oh good, I wanted a guy’s perspective. Burgundy with a lovely golden color sounds wonderful.

      I grew up always moving every couple years because of my father’s job. Everywhere we lived the walls were white, I remember thinking when I have a house, no white walls, lol!

  2. I saw that title and thought bloody hell Ancient’s doing the naked thing again! It didn’t work for me though. I like the shirt and the colour and the sleigh bells. Varian… No. I didn’t see the bells at first because I thought Varian was the problem. But to each their own :) I know u love human males.

  3. Haha funny!! I have a friend who’s obsessed with bells in general and have all kinds of them hanging all over her place, she convinced me that they can be very decorative. My budgie also loves bells – you’re not alone :D

    • I agree with your friend. We also have a giant bell in the basement. I wanted to put it up outside but I think we’d have to hire a piledriver or something as it’s that large.

      Oh, I love budgies, jingle a bell to your budgie from me!

  4. Love the title :D

    Don’t see anything wrong with a cow skeleton personally but then I’ve had a fascination with bones ever since I was a little girl (for which I blame Georgia O’Keefe).

    The only thing in my house that my husband doesn’t like (it’s currently banished to my office) is Francisco, my five foot wooden painted skeleton. We spent six months living in Mexico and he was my largest purchase. He’s white and pink and bringing him home was a pain in the neck. You should have seen the look on security’s face when they asked if I had anything dodgy in my bags and my husband said “she’s got a skeleton in there”. Luckily I managed to explain the situation before anyone got shot and in the end they saw the funny side too.

    • Okay, I really LOLed from this comment Erinys, I have a whole movie going in my head of the scene at security when this went down.

      A five foot painted skeleton sounds just like something I’d want too, and you’re right I’m a big fan of O’Keeffe so it must be her fault.

  5. Well, the naked thing did the trick : P

    Pulled off right, just about anything you hang on a wall can work as a proper decoration. I honestly love the look of your sleigh bells, not to mention Varian there!, While I can’t see the rest of the red room, the shirt on the wall could mesh very well with the room, provided that the vibe is right.

    I’m personally not really into skulls, but I can’t hate on your choice to adopt Mr. Cow Head. I mean, I do have a bear skin hanging on my wall after all. I couldn’t let Teddy (who hung on my father’s livingroom wall for years) just either collect dust somewhere or go to some hunting camp where he’d get eaten away by bugs and the elements. Weird wall hangings ftw I say! Keeps things interesting ; )

    • Yeah, shame on me, I know they’re still looking for naked pictures because yesterday I had a “naked tauren” searcher here but the best I could do was a naked cat.

      Oh, a bear skin sounds excellent. I found a raccoon coat in a trunk my husband had and I was so sad when I found it was too far gone to save.

  6. I have to admit, your title caught my eye and I’m glad to see you mean your kitty :P

    I like the first pic of the top, those sleigh bells look huge and the portrait of Varian… hehe

    • Yes, my Druid is a proper lady, she only lounges naked in cat, or bear form.

      I know Varian can be a big jerk like Garrosh but I’ve got to be patriotic. Although I admit the horde room has a picture of Thrall not Garrosh, I just can’t forgive him for killing Cairne, even if he was tricked.

  7. Maybe that will be the next logical step in WoW, the ability to create habitats of our own, as we have been able to do with our weapons and wardrobes. I love my funky little Hobbit hole in real life, the trash and treasures that have meaning and personal value.

    This post again, cracked me up: digging the human warrior/paladin or whatever he’s supposed to be. If you saw some of the things I hang on my walls, well you would know once again we are kindred spirits.

    • Hi Matty, I had to … ahem … edit the photos a little because those elusive dust bunnies show up really well on camera. Perhaps I’ll start hunting them with a camera rather than vacuum in the future.

      I know people have wanted player housing for ages, it would be fun to decorate our virtual homes and players could buy virtual paint sets and sell their art on the AH for us to buy!

  8. That’s good King Wyrnn!? Oh, I am so ashamed. Going to put me in nine-irons and drag my tail off to the Stockades.

    Oh, and thank you for the music link!

  9. That pic of Varian is a good pic :) Done by one of my fave artists Wei Wang!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

