Blogs and Dogs, or the detritus of an unfocused mind

Dogs

Yes, another rambling WoW related brain dump, mostly about blogging. I’ll put in titles to make it easier to skip stuff. First, it’s cold and rainy and icy so I thought a festive dog photo would be cheery. This was taken on holiday; we were at the beach so he’s wearing his beach hat. I felt bad that our little girl dog never gets to be a web star. Both our dogs have issues. My boy suffers from separation anxiety and will chew off his foot if left without a human for long. That’s why we all vacation together.

Our little girl does not take a good photo. She looks terrified in most, like the photographer is standing there with a polearm, ready to beat her. She’s a rescue and we thought we’d be able to help her but the consensus of the experts is her fearfulness is genetic, probably why she ended up in a rescue. She’s the sweetest girl ever but her heart really belongs to my husband.

Her favorite thing of all is to ride in the car. I just don’t get this because she squeals in terror the whole time. She doesn’t want to get out anywhere, just ride around. I wonder if a car ride is the canine equivalent of a roller-coaster to her. She’s not telling. So there she is looking only semi-scaredy.

What? Yes, I frequently wear a bag over my head at home. You know, bad hair day … too lazy to put on makeup. In this case I wasn’t though … that’s not even really MY HEAD.

My Servers

Morning Fenris! I just wanted to give a shout to Fenris. I can always tell what server I logged into and what faction by glancing at the chat. Yes, Alliance side, Fenris. No doubt there, and a bonus this morning. I don’t even have to black out any language. Horde side is usually nicer. Zangarmarsh is much nicer. Kind of freaked me out. People throwing out buffs, being helpful. It took some getting used to. I have a bunch of other servers but these are the two that I’ve spent the most time on so, Hi!

Norwegian Carrot Cake

I was so happy that Norwegian Carrot Cake man came back. They told me, “Hrm, Not the best post unfortunately. Sorry to be so blunt! You should try some Norwegian carrot cake ( ) to cheer you up instead.” Cyrme at Bubbles of Mischief said he visited her too. Yes, yes, I know I’m playing right into his hands but really, I want to make it. Here’s the recipe but I can’t read it. The only part I think I’ve got down, is to preheat the oven to 200° Celsius, then I’m stumped. If anyone can translate it, let me know I’d like to make it. I can’t stop thinking about Carrot Cake now, and I guess the Norwegian’s make the best ones.

Fashionista, So NOT

This one made me laugh so hard. The comment was, I love your fashion sense. My idea of dressing up is putting on a clean pair of jeans. Maybe she was talking about my Druid but that still doesn’t make sense. Below is the transmog outfit she put together. It’s what she wanted, a working girl look. I don’t know about you but to me her outfit kind of reminds me of those movies where there are the “townies” and the rich, smart, pulled together looking kids. Some of the people on my blog roll are the pulled together looking kids. It’s not my Druid, she’s kind of fashion challenged if you ask me.

My Druid kind of cracks me up. She’s so cute with that whole mean scowl she’s got there. Ooooo … such a scary Druid. Works much better in cat or bear form, human form just isn’t cutting it.

Search Terms

“ancient nude sexy” not once but TWICE! Aw, thank you but you shouldn’t have. I’m not sure where you actually saw nude pictures of the ancient, but I’m going to take your word for it. Chickens coming home to roost from my flagrant misuse of the word nude.

“pissing sopa” I KNOW! Me too! I feel exactly the same about it! That pissing SOPA! It’s nice to know we’re all on the same page here.

OH NO! This post is becoming ridiculously long, straining the  patience of kind readers to the breaking point and I haven’t even gotten to over half of what I wanted to say, geez. Okay the rest will have to wait, but just one more thing. I promise. Just one thing about three things but it’s really only one thing.

Links to Good Stuff

I saw that Niki of Gamer’s Fridge has a new SWTOR related blog up, Moz’s Cantina Crawl. I know, how cool is that. Although I have a Bounty Hunter too, her’s seems to be doing useful stuff like healing and all. Mine just runs around screaming, “Die, you #%@?##$@#er’s” and using Death from Above.

And Saz of World of Saz has a FaceBook page where she has tips and advice about all things enhancement shaman. This brings me to the place where I was going to talk about getting an Ancient FaceBook page and my inability to multitask well but I’ll but I’ll save that for another post cause this one’s just too long.

Oh, and here’s my rhyme, I’m so proud of it, it’s the only one I’ve ever done.

Navimie the Rhyming Machine and Healer Supreme oh wait … or, or,

Navimie the Rhyming Queen and Healer Supreme

OMG! I thought of another!! I’m getting good at this!

13 Responses to “Blogs and Dogs, or the detritus of an unfocused mind”

  1. My first thought was seriously, what’s with the bag on the head? but then you say it’s not even you… Now I was going to say we know who the real star of the pic would have been.

    And I’m sad to say that after reading the carrot cake comment last night, his words did seem familiar but as usual I give spammers a swift click into the ‘delete permanently’ pile, which is why I didn’t remember any luring of food

    • The body is me, but the head in the bag is some guy’s. I do this to mollify my husband who occasionally sees what I’m doing and freaks. He’s sure a maniac will locate our house by identifying us by the set of knifes in the background or something or someone will sue us. Since I try to stay away from giving any actual WoW advice we’re probably safe from a WoWsuit.

      First time carrot cake man came I deleted it and then was sad I did. So happy he returned!

    • And not only is she an enhancement shaman, she’s a really, really nice one!

      I have one too, but it’s embarrassing. She’s been parked in SW since the beginning of Cata, she’s gone up two levels by doing the fishing and JC daily quests and I don’t remember how to play her. Sad because she was once my main for a short time.

  2. “Here’s how:

    Heat the oven to about 200 degrees Celsius.

    Mix the flour, ground almonds, baking powder and spices in a measuring jug or bowl. Grate the carrots and apples, chopped walnuts and apricots roughly, mash the banana.

    Beat eggs and Sukrin fluffy. There will be an eggnog with Sukrin, but it will taste good anyway.

    Add the oil in the egg mixture and add the flour mixture little by little so that no lumps.

    Then put in the remaining ingredients and fill the mixture into a small roasting pan or a large round shape.

    Cooking time will vary from stove to stove, but expect that it takes about 1 hour. You may want to check for respectively 15 and 30 minutes that no heat is too strong.

    When it is cooked, take it out of the oven and loosen it from the mold. Let it cool on a wire rack. Let cake cool completely, about 30 minutes before you start with a glass texture.

    Glaze

    Stir together cream cheese, curd, lemon juice and Sukrinmelis. Cake should now be completely cooled. Sprinkle lemon zest on top of cake.

    Enjoy!”

    Google translator ftw :D
    Sukrin is brand name sugar substitute.

    6 eggs
    1 cup Sukrin
    2 cups canola oil
    2 cups spelled or rye flour
    1 cup oatmeal
    100 g ground almonds
    1 teaspoon cinnamon
    1 teaspoon ground cloves
    1 teaspoon cardamom
    1 teaspoon ginger, or allspice, or both
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    7 cups grated carrots
    1 can (100 grams) walnuts
    ½ bag of apricots
    2 mashed ripe bananas
    1 grated apple
    Eventuellt raisins

    It actually sounds quite tasty, especially if you used real sugar rather than substitute.

    • Oh thank you Erinys! Genius! I never remember Google translator.

      I’m going to have to try this. The eggnog thing threw me for a moment, didn’t know if I had to drink some while mixing but as I’ll use real sugar maybe I don’t need to worry about it!

  3. I am almost envious of this Norwegian carrot cake thing…
    Ancient you have turned into a rhymer! And with your new skill you have also gotten mine and Matty’s curse… Typos… You spelt my name wrong LMAO. But I am loving all this traffic I get from your blog :)

    And what is with that bag on your head…

    • OMG! I fixed them here but then I see I misspelled your name in a comment on your blog too. Oh no :(

      I have a confession to make. The first time I typed that phrase I wasn’t trying to rhyme because I know I can’t. I was thinking about how I wished I could rhyme something for you and when I read it!!! It was a rhyme. It was like I was channeling the force of Navi!

      My husband says my look could turn you to stone so just protecting you guys, I don’t know if it only works when directed at him but better safe than sorry.

  4. /arrives late via a comment on my Female Hunter motivational poster
    /waves
    /sets up camp…

    Blog added, I look forward to reading you! :D

  5. Thank you for the link love. I don’t know how useful a level 20 healer is but I’m not very good at dps. I have a tendency to spam, spam spam, tab to a different group, start shooting, oh crap just pulled another group, tab, shot, tab shot….so many mobs! Faceroll left, left LEFT!!!

    I like healing, I like the pressure you’re under to keep everyone alive but there is no competition with anyone else. Like there is with DPS, my epeen is bigger then your epeen. Oh yeah! My epeen may mot be big but I have girth, just look at my numbers. MMmmm, numbers make me think of pie. 3.14159

    I’ve looked for guides on bounty hunters but I keep running into end game players who are doing the heroic mode things already. Even their early posts a “level to 50 in 9 days.” I’m thinking, holy hell, did you take anytime to shower or hug your kids. I’m not that kind of a player. I’m hoping to explain things for average people who want to do everything in swtor but need it explained slowly and with small words. I’m currently writing a post on the space battles, a lot of blogs talk to you like you’re stupid “its easy, fly around and shot things. Gawd.” I’ve never done anything like it, it took me several tries because I kept plowing into asteroids.

    • You’re welcome! I seem to have a deep seated aversion to the thought of healing. Every time I spec healer, I never login to that character again. I think I’m afraid to be responsible for all those lives!

      I promised myself I wouldn’t race to level cap in swtor like I usually do, I’m taking my time, seeing the sights.

      I know! I don’t know how long I had to search to find info on space missions and how to fly the darn thing. I kept trying to turn my ship around, I mistakenly thought I was flying it! Looking forward to reading it. I think the first space mission I did took me four tries, lol.

      • LoL, I know I’ve done it more then 4 times. If you have wondered:

        Will you die if you hit an asteroid too many times….yes.
        Can you crash into an enemy ship,,,,yes.
        Does it count as taking out a turret…yes.
        Can you crash into the planet…No.
        Will you take lesser damage if you clip an asteroid then if you hit one head on….yes.

        It was fun, blogging about it means I get to do all kinds of crazy stuff. It’s research!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

