Twisted Nitwittery

I really don’t know how I do this, but I’ve totally borked up the whole weekend. In spite of the fact that I’m a mother with a mother I had no idea it was Mother’s Day weekend. Earlier this week I agreed to meet up with my mother on Sunday, as she wants to go underwear shopping which leads me to believe she doesn’t know either. Or maybe underwear shopping is sufficiently festive for her, I don’t know.

I’ve also REALLY screwed up on time zones too. I was extremely flattered to receive an email from Hydra, one of the hosts of The Twisted Nether Blogcast asking would I like to join them on May 12th at 8pm PT. Yes, right, let’s see, Pacific is three hours behind me, so yeah, that’s great. 5:00pm would work perfectly I thought, although I’m pretty boring. Yes, see what I DID THERE. Only this morning has it come to my attention that it really means 11:00pm my time.

I was already worried about the fact that I’m a horrible phone talker. I guess you could say I’m a taciturn phone talker, not long on chit chat. My phone conversations are generally like this.

Hello. What time should I be there. Great. Bye. Click.

Then I’ve been worrying about the allergy effect and the resulting snorting, sniffing, excessive throat clearing and mouth breathing. Charming. The only allergy medicine that works on me is Benedryl, but it also puts me to sleep, so I’d have to add snoring to the list.

I wake up almost every day between 4:00am and 4:30am, so 11:00pm is really way past my bedtime. So I’m thinking taking allergy medicine is way too risky. I’ve been giving some thought to buying a bunch of helium balloons, and talking only after inhaling helium to disguise my voice cause I really don’t like it.

So here are my worries.

boring, taciturn, snorting, sniffing, throat clearing, mouth breathing, snoring, annoying voice, asleep

If in spite of that, you’d like to join Hydra, Fimlys, and myself you can find all the information you need right here.

I can’t really remember ever having taken a nap in my life, but I think I might have to Saturday in the interest of the whole, staying awake thing. I don’t want to be rude.

Cat the Druid is excited of course, so she ran straight to Jarel Moor to tell him to be sure listen. Really, I should see if she could do it, she’s much better at this than I am. I’ll have to check on that, maybe they have Skype in Azeroth, it’s worth investigating.

Maybe I should have a glass of wine first. Or maybe not.

boring, taciturn, snorting, sniffing, throat clearing, mouth breathing, snoring, annoying voice, asleep, drunk, :O

26 Responses to “Twisted Nitwittery”

  1. Want to swap Mothers?
    I forgot Mother’s Day once when I was a penniless student and it gets brought up at least once a month even though it’s a while since I graduated.

    I shall try and listen in but I suspect that it’s going to be some weird time here, like 2am or so but time zones are not my thing. When I lived in Mexico, I endeared myself to my nearest and dearest by calling at all sorts of unsocial hours.

    Based on the way you write, I’m pretty sure you’re going to be safe on the “boring and taciturn” fronts. As for the next five, just say at the start that your dogs are sitting by your feet and that any potential strange noises will be them chasing small animals in their sleep. As for annoying voices, I think everyone thinks that their own voice is annoying and I can pretty much guarantee that adrenalin will keep you awake. That only leaves drunk which is definitely personal choice :p

    I’m actually sitting on a similar email trying to figure out what to do with it. Ignoring the time zone, the fact that I hate my voice and am horribly shy weighted against the fact that it’s lovely to be asked on stuff.

    On the plus side I sound like my avatar when I giggle but not sure that’s enough to carry the day.

    • Erinys! That’s brilliant! Thank you, I never thought of blaming any weird sounds on the dogs, that is perfect. I’ll give them an extra treat for taking the blame.

      My husband was astounded when I told him, he couldn’t believe flattered beat out too shy. I hope you decide to do it as I’d love to hear you, not to mention hear you giggle!

      One year our daughter called to wish us a happy anniversary, she got my husband. He’d forgotten. He came upstairs and said he was sorry, I asked, what for? He told me and I just stared at him. I’d forgotten too, lol!

      We still laugh about that one!

  2. LOL Helium balloons! You crack me up. But again, that’s what the mute button is for, I was afraid you’d be able to hear every time I muted but Cool told me you couldn’t. :)

  3. Congrats!
    I’m sure you’ll do just fine in spite of your concerns. :)

  4. Woot! I know a rock star!

    • Yeah, maybe the rock part but not the star part so much!

      • JD Kenada Says:

        Check out all the followes and folks commenting. Start part? “Hells yeah” as the kids say these day. Unless they don’t do that anymore. In which case, I’ll just chase them off my lawn and pull my pants back up.

  5. JD Kenada Says:

    Now that I see this, and your discussion regarding time zones, you and I are in the same zone. So any time I schedule anything, rest assured it’s 8-10 on your clock as well as mine :D

  6. That’s so exciting! Grats and I know you’re scared but I am thrilled that they chose such an awesome funny person!

  7. Never taken a nap…. and you call yourself Ancient! It’s the prerogative of Ancient people to fall asleep in front of the TV, reading, in your soup…. :) I love naps :) I’d really love to move to somewhere they have siestas as part of daily routine.

    If I’m not out doing Mothers Day stuff (its after lunch on Sunday for us in kangaroo land) I’ll be sure to listen in.

  8. [...] whatever name you wish to refer to Ancient, our dear friend will be on the Twisted Nether Blogcast this weekend!  Be sure to check it out, even if it is after the live [...]

  9. Oh my, this is exciting. I am really looking forward to hearing that podcast!

    Reading this post, you described a lot of the things I think about when I “go live” on the Wow Factor.
    Surprisingly I have not yet received any negativity, but Noelani tells me constantly to not cough and snort and what else my face is doing. I get nervous when speaking “in public” in front of a lot of people, and will usually clear my throat until it’s soar, which just makes it all even worse.

    If that’s not neurotic enough, I also avoid listening to any recording of myself, I’ve got a flat accent and I think my vocabulary is too small – yes, the self criticism will never end.

    I have yet not been asleep while on the air :D
    But I did sip on a White Russian once, but I’m not sure it made me less boring, perhaps just more annoying and loud >.<

    It's hard to imagine you being boring though! I'm very excited both to hear the podcast and your experience of it all.

    • OH! You sound so calm and collected and NO! you’ve got to be kidding, your vocabulary is quite extensive! Isn’t it funny what we’re all thinking to our self.

      I am somewhat more talkative after a glass of wine, it’s about the only effect alcohol has on me besides walking into walls and stuff. The only problem is that all the WTFs I type would be out loud so I’m still conflicted about whether it’s a good idea!

      • The calm is either because of that white russian, or because I’ve convinced myself that no one but the others speaking, can hear us, that it’s essentially a private conversation. Focusing on that helps a bit, but I still get these strange “hiccups”, like suddenly needing to swallow in the middle of a word.

        I think most of us get nervous, the fact it’s recorded and everyone can hear it over and over is daunting, but I think we’re the same when it comes to being our own worst critic.

        It helps to chat a bit to the hosts before recording to get warmed up. I’m sure you’ll have fun once you’ve settled in and the talk is flowing.

  10. JD Kenada Says:

    I just had the opportunity to give the podcast a listen. You were phenomenal! I got some great smiles out of your PvP discussion. I’m sorry I missed it in the first place, but you were great. :)

    • Thank you JD! I’m scared to listen to it! My husband wants to listen to it, I don’t know why. He wouldn’t understand what it’s about and he hears me all the time anyway!

      • JD Kenada Says:

        Perhaps he just thinks it’s interesting that his wife was interviewed for her hobby and just wants to hear how you did.

        • Thanks JD, honestly I never thought of that. He had wanted to be in the room live but luckily a hockey game was on which was WAY more interesting to him!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

