My Favorite Rare Spawn — TLPD

Euphyley of WoW Rare Spawns is having a contest to celebrate her Blog’s first anniversary. Euphyley asks:

I want to know what your favorite rare spawn is – or the one that you will never forget finding in game, and why.

I don’t remember the patch, but I had just read about the Time-Lost Proto Drake being added to the game. I was excited, I thought I’d go check out the area he was reported to spawn in. This was another early morning, no contacts in check, as I just wanted to become familiar with his flight path and I wasn’t planning on looking for him. I had just a few minutes before I had to log off.

I flew to the area around the abandoned camp and alt-tabbed to read the information on him at Wowhead. A little later I came back to find wings flapping on my head, he was on top of me. There was a nearby ledge, we were alone, we fought, the Reins of the Time-Lost Proto-Drake were mine.

Nothing that stupid easy had ever happened before and probably will never happen again. I am now armed with addons and helpers and I’ve still never seen King Krush. So my absolute favorite rare spawn is and will always be the Time-Lost Proto Drake. How could I not love him best. No camping, no hours of waiting only to have someone kill them when they spawned.

I wasn’t even looking for him and yet, he came to me. You gotta love that in a rare spawn. I feed him extra drake biscuits every chance I get.

18 Responses to “My Favorite Rare Spawn — TLPD”

  1. Sounds like true love—it just happens. That is a great story, and gives us all hope!

  2. Maybe I can get Willy to carry an extra sack of drake biscuits, freshly baked over our many campfires scattered around the Storm Peaks. :)

    /cast: renewed hope

  3. I remember going through New Hearthglen and slogging through all of the mobs, only to have the rare-spawn achieve pop up. Turned out that in the middle of one mob was a Lieutenant someone-or-other that was on the lists.

    And all I was caring about was not getting caught from behind by yet another mob…

    (Speaking of mounts with the Time Lost Proto, have you ever gotten the White Warbear from the Brunnhildar Village? I tried for that thing for months and finally gave it up.)

    • LOL! Those rares hang out where they’re the least expected!

      Yes, she got the white bear finally. It did take months to find it in her bag, but the Druid is persistent if nothing else.

  4. What a great story! Lucky, lucky, lucky you!

  5. Omg you are the luckiest thing! Actually, it must be skill coz aeonaxx did that for you too! What a great story, no wonder its your fave! I need you to buy my next lottery ticket :)

    • Oh I so wish it worked with lottery tickets! On Aeonaxx, you’re right practically the same thing happened. I found him, TLPD and the correct camel figurine and I’m pretty sure all of them were early and without my contacts in. Maybe that’s the key to my luck!

  6. This is basically what every WoW player dreams of, having such rare treasures appear right in front of you.
    Lady RNG loves you!

  7. Such a great story, it puts all my hours of camping to shame, just like Cool said in my post comment :P But I can’t complain about getting my Camel and Poseidus so close together :D

    • I’m not great at camping, I don’t have a lot of patience so I really lucked out. I did however not mind the months long hunts for the camel figurine as I like Uldum and flying around the desert in winter has a certain appeal!

  8. I envy your luck.

  9. Holy luckamoly!!!! What a great story, that is some really really REALLY incredible luck. You should come hang out with me when I camp. ;)

    • Whenever I feel unlucky, like the 158 Anzu kills, I just remember this, it all evens out. But I don’t think I’ll ever be that excited again, it was like Christmas morning when I was six!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

