How Not to be Good at your Class

As I may have mentioned before this blog has no useful information, oh wait, there was that one shining SWTOR speeder vendor location moment but aside from that … zip … nada … nothing. I’d love to have lots of class specific facts to impart but that’s just not going to happen. And this is why.

It occurs to me (and I’m sure it occurs to you but you’re too polite to say it) that if I’d stop fooling around making a bazillion alts of every class, I might actually be able to master the two classes I care most about, kitty Druid and Demo Warlock.

But alas, I can’t stop myself. I am an altoholic. So here’s my one piece of good advice, don’t do what I do. Don’t play five different classes at once. You get the keys mixed up. You keep pounding on the wrong ones or you forget you can Feign Death because you think you’re a Druid or you run right up to a mob and try to beat it to death while forgetting you’re a Mage.

Okay, now that I’ve got that warning out of the way, meet Neuroteca my new Mage. Yeah, she’s not much of a go-getter. She’s the first character I’ve ever known that’s so lazy she sits to fish. Historically, the Mage class has always bewildered me. The highest I’ve ever managed to level one was 53, she’s now my bank alt. I couldn’t delete her after the agony she went through to get to level 53.

Yeah, the Warlocks are all pissy about this but I told them it’s in the interest of knowledge. The more we know about Mages the better to kill them, I’m pretty sure they bought it because they liked the whole killing Mages part.

And I’ve been given a lot of good advice which I ignored. Spec Frost for leveling, why aren’t you Arcane? Because, obviously I want to fling giant balls of fire around, sheesh, if I’m going to be a Mage I’m going to throw great balls of fire or what’s the point.

So anyway, I had a plan. I would overcome my aversion to LFD and level her that way. Makes perfect sense doesn’t it? Go into instances with a class that I have NEVER been able to play well, without heirlooms. What could go wrong?

I still don’t know. She’ll probably be deleted or level 85 before I get in a group. I haven’t been able to stay on long enough for the queue to come up with a group. Maybe it’s protecting me, maybe it’s PROTECTING THEM! Probably it’s just DPS and end of expansion fatigue.

So in the meantime I’ve decided leveling a Mage is kinda like an Ironman Challenge for me. Mostly because I seem incapable of staying out of melee range. Probably why Warlocks are the only casters that I like. Big purple demon FTW!

Yes, while we’re on the subject of ridiculous I had to mention this. I mean look at that shit eating stupid grin on that camel, even he thinks it’s ridiculous. In my Hunter’s quest for a Canopic Jar she stumbled across her first Camel Figurine. Oh! Cool! A free 25 gold! Not caring the least about mounts or titles she was rather annoyed to find no gold, instead she was blown away to Feralas and Dormus.

That makes three, I’m like a camel magnet. I should rent myself out.

20 Responses to “How Not to be Good at your Class”

  1. “Iā€™m like a camel magnet. I should rent myself out.”

    You should have specials for Hump Day! :D *ba-dum-tish!*

    I kinda know how you feel, though: adept at everything, but master of none. To make it easy on myself, I just map my abilities similarly across all of my characters. Hah!

  2. OMG! Yes, you need to come over to Wyrmrest Accord and be a camel magnet for Thermalix and Mechalis. They would LOOOOOOOVE that.

    • Next alt that finds one I’m just yelling it’s location out to Uldum. Hopefully you’ll hear the yell from Fenris!

      • Okay, two things: I have decided not to care. Or try not to. When I am fourth, a close fourth, but still fourth on DPS on a raid in my new guild, because I also have those buttons mixed up (remember our idea of spell -stealing ability?) it’s Miss ShammyPooPooPants all the way. MASH ALL THE BUTTONZZZZ /flop

        Second: I also know of a very handsome mage who has now gone into semi-retirement and fishes. Mage is a four-letter word for “lazy.”

        Ceniza the Girl of Ashes and Smoke is still highly combustible, so don’t give up on that mage yet. Salty Neuroteca has a nice ring to it, too.

        • I keep telling myself for the betterment of the Druid and Warlocks I should stop fooling around but I just can’t seem to do it, lol, so I figure if I mash ‘em all surely I’ll accidentally hit the right one.

          She probably might have a chance because of her heritage not her class. I really would like to have at least one 85 Globlin even if she just sits around fishing!

  3. OMGOMGOMGOMG you are SO lucky :O

    Can I come and rub up against you please for mount luck????

    PLLLEEEAASSSEEEEE?????????

    • I’ll go to your blog and try to rub some camel luck into the screen! I think what’s attracting the camel figurines is all that camel spit I got on me from the first time!

  4. It’s your money and your time so play how you want to play :) Even if it is on a mage :p I’ll let ya know when I get mine to 20.

    • That’s a good way to look at it, I’m just getting my money’s worth by having so many alts, lol!

      Yes, usually the lure of a mount gets most of my alts to at least 20 fairly quickly but she’s dawdling along. Don’t know if it’s because she’s a Mage or because she’s a Goblin.

      Looking forward to seeing how yours fares!

  5. JD Kenada Says:

    No camel-humping luck requests here. Though, I might eventually get one for Tum…he of the “collect the mounts that no Dwarf should ride” variety.

    Referring to the camel’s “shit-eating grin” might be one of my favourite comments you’ve ever written.

  6. I’m the same with mages, mine sits at 85 out of principle to finish her, and was never played since she hit max. Perhaps I’d enjoy fire more….if only I could work out how to do it

    • I keep hoping I might figure her out by the time I reach 85. I keep running around to get range and usually manage to pick up two or three mobs while I do it, after that I’m just running for my life!

  7. I was about to say, I wonder what Amijade has to say to that? And she didn’t say anything very inflammatory LOL. Well, when I figure out how to play my mage, maybe you and I can compare notes.

  8. Wait, 3 camels? Holy crap!

    • If this Mage were another race I think I’d be ready to dump her. But I like Goblins and I don’t want to face going through the starting zone again so she might die her way up to 85 just cause she’s a Goblin.

      I know, 3 is ridiculous and what she wants is a Canopic Jar, not a camel. Somebody got her order wrong, lol.

  9. I recommend LFD for leveling Mages. Just make sure you’ve got aggro under control.

    In BGs, low level Arcane Mages are good because they’re very nice and high burst, but the higher you get the better Frost is in a BG.

    As for leveling in general, you can do whichever spec you want, really. It’s not a big deal. Frost has better CC so if you need to use CC when questing (not as much of a deal nowadays), go for it. The others are better at burst, and for raiding, they’re better anyway, so it’s really a personal choice.

    • Thanks Redbeard, I’m a Mage noob! I thought LFD would be less painful with her but my weird play time might be why I can’t get in a group. I’m determined to get this Goblin to 85 one way or another!

      • The play time does enter into it, that’s for sure. I’m usually up at 5 AM EST or midday, and yeah, it can be a pain in the neck to get into an instance. It also depends on your level, because the instances go in waves.

        Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

