The More Things Change …

Yep. I decided I needed a change of scenery and what do I do? The same thing, I fish. I’ll relate to you my LOTRO wandering. And I do mean wandering, I don’t know why my pace slows down so much there. I’m not rushing to get things done like I do in WoW. Maybe it’s the music.

I had to let go of the whole “she’s an omnipotent being that can’t be killed” thing at level 10. I’m playing without knowing ANYTHING on purpose, to sort of regain that lovely noob glow. You occasionally run into NPCs and beasts with fancy nameplates. I’d been killing them all with no problem but I ran across a boar who snorted on me about three times and then I was dead. Oops, level 15 fancy nameplate is apparently her omnipotence ceiling.

I’ve been gathering, gathering, gathering, with the hope of selling it all and becoming a trade princess of LOTRO. Imagine my horror on finding out I had to spend real money to list the stuff, to make fake money. My career choices may have been an error I now see.

I also didn’t know what a fellowship was, one popped up asking me to join it, which I did. Then I worried that I’d just joined a guild without knowing it, but thankfully it was just a group. The person didn’t type anything so I just followed along. In WoW I tend to lose patience with this kind of behavior but here I didn’t mind just tagging along to see where they were going. It seems LOTRO improves my disposition, lol. Still enjoying it.

On the WoW front I’m getting a little worried. I’ve been spending an unhealthy amount of time staring at this page at Ysera’s Daughter. I’ve exhibited this kind of behavior before. Back before Cata I would hang around blogs that outlined the process of getting The Insane title. Just casually looking. Just looking. WHAT! THEY MIGHT DO AWAY WITH IT! OMG! That does it! I need to get it done RIGHT NOW!

I’ve got an 85 Druid, 85 Hunter, 85 Shaman, three 85 Warlocks, 85 Death Knight. Kind of went overboard with those Warlocks. I stupidly deleted a high level Priest and Rogue. So that leaves Warrior, Priest, Rogue, Mage, Paladin. I have a Rogue, Mage and Paladin at various levels. I could … STOP IT! Nah Nah Nah I can’t hear you voice in my head! Geez, reading blogs is dangerous business. I’d better go back to LOTRO and chill. Maybe fish a little.

14 Responses to “The More Things Change …”

  1. You know, I never listed anything, so I wouldn’t know that. I do know you can buy off the LOTRO AH without paying real money, and Age of Conan does allow you to list but you have an internal money ceiling if you’re F2P. (AoC saves any extra money you make and if you decide to sub you get that extra money deposited into your account.)

    I do think that the scenery, being different from WoW, inspires a bit more wandering. You might want to avoid portions of the Old Forest for now, however: those trees and nasty Wights nearby really pack a punch.

    • I didn’t resist for long. I bought some points to add a bag for all my wood and ore and then listed one auction just to see if it would sell. Sold pretty quick.

      I’ve really enjoyed wandering around, it’s very pretty countryside. I haven’t encountered a Wight! Yike! I must be on the lookout for those!

      • I think the ones you encounter in the Barrow Downs and on the edge of the Old Forest are mid-L20s. You can hit them if your around L20, but they take hit you for a lot more. I remember watching my oldest’s Hunter run a lot when she was learning to deal with the wights.

  2. I also thought a fellowship was a guild and thought who have lumped yourself with! But ok if that’s a party what is guild?

  3. Hehe, DON’T LOOK! IT’S BAD FOR YOU!

    This has been a goal of mine since BC, but I’ve never actually been so close. I thought I could do it in Wrath but I was wrong I got a 80 druid, mage, priest, shaman, and pally during Wrath. And everyone else was 60 or below. So yeah. :D

    • It is dangerous! I keep thinking, well you’re half way there but if I keep playing LOTRO and Portal and generally fooling around I’ll be looking at having to get them all to 90 soon!

  4. Oh geez, I admit I have 5x 85′s but that’s more for the professions. With all this new stuff coming in Mists though I’m not sure if I’ll level past my priest and hunter… but who knows. It wouldn’t be the first time :P

    There are just some classes I’m just not interested in playing though – I have tried them all at some point :)

    • All but the Druid and Warlocks are old mains that I level for their professions too. And I know, I think I could manage the Mage, Priest and Rogue but Warrior and Pally not so sure. I’ve started and deleted sooo many.

  5. JD Kenada Says:

    You’re not the only one who’s stare tends to turn towards that 10 to 85 (I have three now, and a fourth approaching, all different classes as it is…).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

