Gone Fishing

It’s just me here, there’s not a lot I can do without her and she’s in another one of her moods. That leaves me nothing to do but fish and go broke trying to find a belt for this outfit. She’s been talking about joining Döra but I see she’s pre-purchased Mists so I’d say she’s conflicted.

What is it this time? If someone says something negative to her she tends to embrace it wholeheartedly, whether it’s true or not and …

Yeah, you can imagine how much wallowing she does as a result of playing WoW. So while she was all covered in mud moping, she read a spam and she acted like it was a message from the gods delivered personally by their oracle, aka spammer and she had an epiphany.

“Everything posted made a bunch of sense. However, think about this, what if you added a little content? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however what if you added a headline that makes people desire more? I mean It’s Tyrande, Cymre be Prepared! Tome of the Ancient is a little vanilla. You ought to peek at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create article titles to get people interested. You might try adding a video or a picture or two to get readers interested about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it could make your posts a little livelier.”

She realized she’s been chattering away for close to two year about ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. I’d say that’s a feat in itself but she didn’t see it that way. She said the blog was a stupid gallimaufry of junk with only that one shining SWTOR speeder vendor moment, oh and surprisingly someone called Raquel Welch does a brisk business but that’s it.

No guides, no how to make a million gold, no heroic Gazoongahyde downed. Nothing. Zip. So yeah, she’s in a big WoW/blog snit. Boo hoo. All I can say is that it makes my life bloody difficult and I wish she were capable of growing thicker skin but hey, she’s the class I picked, so I’m stuck.

So while I wait for her to get over her blog crisis I’m left with nothing to do but things like Argent Tournament dailies to get a belt I thought would work with this skirt but doesn’t. And fish.

Playing a real life human gets so tedious sometimes, I think I might roll something else. Are there any Elves on that side?

20 Responses to “Gone Fishing”

  1. I know this may sound odd, but reading that robotic spam made me even more comforted that our robot overlords do not know what the hell they are doing. And that mudbath looks fun. Real humans love, love your writing. Hell, remember Jerry Seinfeld built an entire empire out of a “show about nothing.” And that’s everything.

    • It really is funny how close to an actual comment this one came. I wonder if they have some kind of spam generating software that takes words from a post and mashes them together.

      Thank you for your kind words, I am so emo that one bad encounter and the sky’s falling everywhere, even here.

  2. I have often told you that your mutterings and musings about the most random and seemingly minor things are what make you so special and interesting to read. Nobody is like you, and for that I am grateful because if I laughed any more I think I might crack a rib.

    • Thank you Navi, I think my problem was that I didn’t make a scary face and then took it out on my blog instead. But I notice while I was being all dramatic and not playing or blogging I somehow found time to order the expansion.

      Waaa waaaa waaa, I hate WoW, oops, better order the expansion.

  3. Randomness is good. I look forward to every bit of it, chatter away at will!

    btw, go on some mass killing spree somewhere, be it monsters, dragons, or enemy factions. I find it usually helps the spirit. :)

  4. Ahhhh, but your random ramblings about everything and anything are what keeps people coming back! Don’t you even remotely think about depriving us of them again!! <3 ya Tome!!

  5. Your blog has become one of my favorites in part because of the random ramblings. You have a distinct voice, and your thoughts and experiences are every bit as valuable as the “guides, how to make a million gold, heroic Gazoongahyde downed” posts. :)

    • Thank you Khizz, I really wish I could find a way to not let random jerks in game start a downward spiral into contemplating blog suicide. I think the convergence of rl crap and a wow jerk formed a perfect storm of terrible badness.

      I think a trip to Theramore might help. Now they are some people with real problems.

  6. Don’t worry, you’re not alone in those spam msgs. That one I’ve had a few times already although I don’t normally read past the first sentence or so. What about the ones are read like a thesis?

    But vent away or whatever you need, I know I do from time to time. :) You know we’ll just come back for whatever you have to say.

    • I think I learned my lesson. I ignored the blog and when I came back I had to delete 238 spam twenty at a time which was painful, lol. Next time I get in a WoW snit I’m not going to do that again!

  7. If you do want to take her advice, you could always write me a story involving a “naked Jaina”, “Garrosh” and “Medivh’s bed” for the surprisingly large quantity of people who keep finding my blog by searching for those three things together. It would definitely get rid of the “vanilla” tag :p

    On a slightly more serious note, echoing what those above me have said, I love the way you view things, both through your art and through your writing. Whenever you don’t post for a bit, (like 24 hours… what can I say, I need a lot of stuff to read to get me through the day) I start worrying and wondering if posting asking if you’re okay would be considered stalking.

    What about the Belt of the Living Thicket as a possible belt solution? (http://www.wowhead.com/item=45830/belt-of-the-living-thicket). It does cost justice points but it’s AV weekend (I think we all have the same weekends?) so she could just hang out with the pack and then convert honour into justice if you don’t want to do dungeons.

    Or maybe Manimal’s cinch if you haven’t done those Shadowmoon Valley quests already. (http://www.wowhead.com/item=30942)

    • Garrosh and Jaina Caught Naked in Medivh’s Bed sounds like a great title, lol.

      There are those who do DM me if I disappear and I don’t think it’s stalkerish at all, it probably helps me get out of my snits.

      I REALLY wanted Manimal’s Cinch but I’m sure I’ve done all those quests but I really should go to Shadowmoon Valley and check to make sure and the belt of the Living Thicket looks good too, maybe I should work on that. If I could get the belt sorted out I’d be done except for the Polearm which I thought was going to be the hardest part!

  8. Stay true to yourself. The quirkiness is what makes your blog interesting.

    Of course, I get more musical inspiration from your posts than anything else. This time it’s Satchmo’s old Gone Fishin’ with Bing Crosby.

    • Oh, that’s great! I’m a music lover with no musical ability at all so it’s great to be a musical inspiration. I’ll have to go look that one up, don’t think I’ve heard it.

  9. (Man, I keep editing this comment, I can’t get it right, I’ve retyped it so many times now that it get silly and I really want to comment on this post)

    I’ve been in so many blog crises myself. One of them is about how there’s pretty much only two posts on my blog that gets all the attention, event though they are years old. Sometimes it feels as if whatever I write these days doesn’t matter anyways. Another is how I’ve struggled for a long time on pinning down exactly what my blog is about, and what kind of reading it offers.

    I think it’s important to remember that part of the reason behind blogging is the desire to do so intrinsically. The other because it’s a way to engage with the community, get some feedback, discuss certain topics, share the joys and pains. I guess a blog crisis is one of those pains.

    Your blog might not be heavy on the information part, neither is mine, but yours surely has a lot of character and humor. I’ve never come across a blog like this one, not even close and I think that is really special.

    One of the things new bloggers struggle with is finding their voice, a certain style, a direction – you have definitely found yours, Tome.

    • Thank you Ironyca! I beg to differ, lol, you have a LOT of great and interesting information on your blog. I was telling Navi about what happened in game that started this “fear of blog writing.”

      A few days later on reflection it’s pretty funny. I probably will share it, and you’re right, I started this blog to find other WoW lovers to talk to and in that it surely succeeded and I’m happy about that. Hopefully I won’t engage in any in game activity again that gives me “blogger’s cold feet!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

