A Cautionary Tale of Battle Pets

fieldsYes, it’s come to this. Cat’s fields lay fallow. She told me it’s a glitch, it’s Blizzard’s fault … some kind of bug, yeah … right. You know I try to give her her space and not interfere but now she’s gone too far. I think she’s hit bottom. Maybe she’ll snap out of it now.

She has been doing nothing but battle tamers and level her pets. She occasionally goes looking for rares to replace poors and commons but that’s it. And I see evidence of the strain. She practically froths at the mouth in fury when she receives another Well-Loved Toy instead of a Battle-Stone. And oh my … the language!

dendenYes, Den Den took pity on her and gave her a job washing beer mugs. She couldn’t scrap up enough money to pay her bar tab because all she does is level pets. I’m not even hopeful she’ll keep that job long as she’s always late … just one more level … just one more tamer.

Her latest mission is to start leveling the level one greens that can’t be obtained in the wild. Just the special ones, it turns out she thinks they’re all special. I find her optimism that she’ll ever accumulate that many Battle-Stones to upgrade them all a little extreme but I didn’t say anything. Who am I to rain on her parade. But Cat, do something else for a change … something … ANYTHING … but no she doesn’t even hear me. She’s lost in her leveling frenzy.

So if you see someone hunched over the sink in ratty old clothes in the back of the Inn at Halfhill, it’s probably Cat. Learn from her mistake. Be cautious with battle pets, don’t take them lightly, they are DANGEROUS. Don’t let it happen to you.

21 Responses to “A Cautionary Tale of Battle Pets”

  1. Hmmm…I might have to stop by and make a visit and grab a drink or two. I know the stable master just outside of the Inn is sick and tried of me, always having to care for and mend my pets all the time, lol.

  2. Aww poor Cat, she may need a forced vacation.

    • I’ve tried but it’s catchy. When I logged into Sasche once she immediately flew off looking for pets instead of leveling herself up. So looks like they all have the pet disease!

  3. Sheeze! I would have thought Sasche had more sense being the death-dealing lock she is. :)

  4. Hey Cat, it’s me, Matty. Been there girl. Sometimes ya gotta hit rock bottom before you can start working your way back up. I’ll drop off a guitar and maybe we can start boosting the crowds for tips too. Apparently I’ve got a Darkmoon card gambling addiction problem and nothing has been planted in over a week….

  5. If this weekend is any indication my pet battling addiction is just gonna grow and you might have to get me a job there too!

  6. Navimie refuses to admit she has a problem. She still doesn’t see how battling till 3am and then getting up to go to get ready for work at 6am is ruining her. Perhaps Cat can talk to her. God knows I’ve tried.

    • Oh no Navi! You can’t hurt the little human, they are delicate unlike us, you must let her have her sleep! It’s easier for me as mine just refuses to stay up no matter how much I whine at her.

      Love, Cat

  7. JD Kenada Says:

    My sides…oh they hurt. I shouldn’t be laughing (well, perhaps just not quite so much)…

    • You just be careful there Mister, it could happen to you! The fever just jumps you and then you’re toast! Poor, poor, Cat. Be careful Tum, be careful!

      • JD Kenada Says:

        Tum’s a Priest of the world…he just as easily mines and seeks out ancient artifacts as he does capture pets. Plus there’s healing a merry band of miscreants on occasion…

  8. It sounds almost too familiar. It’s been a lot of pet battling in the last few days. Tiny hasn’t doen anything else. Maybe it’s time for an intervention. I’ll try to convince her to do some quests and dungeons as well.

    • I know, it’s like something’s in the air, lol. She used to be pretty bad but since the holidays she’s become a mad woman. Maybe we’ve all caught something, a virtual pet flu!

  9. Huzzah, this was a perfect way to start a Tuesday IRL!

    *hands Cat a Pet Battlers Anon card*

    • Thank you sir! Tuesday’s not working out too good so far for Cat she was depending on server maintenance to force her to stop and get some work done. Rolling restarts mean will power will be involved, yike!

  10. zwingli Whisperwind Says:

    Yes, the pet battles are contagious. I’m not so sure it’s an addiction, but maybe an infection? Something that is viral in nature? I’m pretty sure that it is airborn as well. Just talking to someone about it can infect them. Poor Zwingli is infected, and it seems to be making its way thru the guild.

    Z

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

