Free Association Blogging

flyingdeath

free association
n.
1. A spontaneous, logically unconstrained and undirected association of ideas, emotions, and feelings.

When I get up in the morning, check for new posts, I never know where it will lead. Matty’s a great one for sending me off on a journey that will end who knows where. It might be WoW related, it might not.

Yesterday Redbeard sent me on a audio journey of the 80’s. He and Navi were talking about Star Wars and Back to the Future and in the comments he said “brat pack flicks.” OMG!

This set off bells! The Breakfast Club! Why The Breakfast Club? My daughter is in London on business and was excited about seeing OMD perform. So after listening to that I noticed the suggestions. OMG … again. Taylor Dayne!

I’ll Be Your Shelter┬áby Taylor Dayne I listened to I don’t know how many times. If I could sing, which I can’t, I would want to have that voice. Damn, that’s a voice. I’m listening again right now. Shoot. I wish I could sing.

This made me think of Khizz at Blog of the Treant who CAN sing, so jealous. I’ll see if she’s saying something. Nope, still cute little kittens.

Well seeing them I just had to go check Emergency Cute Stuff on Twitter. This made me think about pets I want.

spetralfightWhich probably caused this. Cat! Sasche was saving all those dinosaur bones for a mount! That’s mean! You made her spend 999 of her 9999 bones on a pet. You owe her big time Cat, really.

So yeah. Blogging, every day is a battle. I battle envy of blogger blogs with their updating blogroll. In fact there are a few blogs out there that I use to travel the WoW internet, hope they don’t mind. My biggest battle though is finding my way back to where I started. I had wanted to comment. Who sent me on this trip? Today I remembered, other days not so much.

This whole thing has been further complicated by my husband being on vacation this week. He doesn’t read fiction, he reads history almost exclusively. I am trying to find my way back to where I want to comment and he throws out an interesting fact.

“Did you know that in 1900 Minnesota’s grain production was larger than that of Great Britain and Ireland combined?”

Um … no … no I did not. Thanks.

Well, now I have to stop myself from going off on a google journey of the US in the 1900s. Wasn’t too hard but still.

WoW blogging … not for the faint of heart.

13 Responses to “Free Association Blogging”

  1. Oh geez, the 80’s brings back so many memories… I still remember seeing ET at the movies and my eyes were red from crying (bit embarrassing when you’re walking out of the cinema). What about The Outsiders and St Elmo’s Fire. OMG! I loved that movie, well more of Rob Lowe back then :P

  2. I was actually thinking of Breakfast Club when I made that comment. Even though they definitely qualify as chick flicks, the brat pack flicks hit a lot of things right for guys too from that era.

    Between the brat pack stuff, 80s Mel Brooks (History of the World Part 1 and Spaceballs), Real Genius, Ghostbusters, and a few other flicks, the 80s had a gold mine of great fun movies.

    (And that’s not even counting Indy, Star Wars, Top Gun, Star Trek, etc….)

    • Breakfast Club is always the first one I think of when I remember movies from the 80s. Oh Ghostbusters! There really were so many movies I love from that era. Although I think Alien was at the tail end of the 70s I will never forget screaming and jumping out of my seat at the theater when that alien exploded from his chest. My father did the jump but not the scream, lol.

      The really good ones I remember the theater, I remember standing in line in Pretoria, RSA waiting to get in to see Star Wars, even remember the weather.

  3. Well your post led me on a clicking adventure. I worry sometimes that my WoW-related blog cheats and steers off its intended genre course far too often, but I’ve come to accept that I don’t really care. For me, there is a feedback loop of interesting things in Azeroth and interesting things in the world, and the two are not mutally exclusive. Maybe I need to create a new genre classification for it, such as, “Fourth Dimension News.” Damn, still out of coffee, and can’t think.

    Tome – you must be doing something right because the blog readers everywhere agree: you’re the shizznit.

    • I’m glad you don’t care as I would miss my journeys that start at your blog! I really like “Fourth Dimension News” as a category.

      I always feel bad though when I lose my way and I’m left wondering, hey, who started this. I’ve got to thank them. I check the usual suspects but sometimes have to resort to browser history because I’ve strayed so far afield.

  4. Haha, I really need to update my blog. Cute kittens are great, but only for so long…

  5. Dangfool Says:

    While your web meanderings works solo, two nights ago I was able to contrast it with the family. The four of us sat around 3 computers each searching for youtube videos of music. According to the rules of this family game, there needed to be some connexion to the prior video, but just using another song by the same artist would be boring.

    Parents kept pulling music from prior decades. We discovered we’d done a good job teaching them our favorites!

  6. Free association blogging – like Matty this post took me all over the place! Including memory lane! Ha, yes I was chatting to Redbeard because that post made me laugh so much I just HAD to comment. Usually I’m too scared to write on his blog. He seems so verbose that my childish manner or typing and speaking would seem a little out of place on his blog!
    Ah Breakfast club! I have watched that SO MANY TIMES!

    • Oh that’s funny, there are some blogs I’m afraid to comment on unless I have deep profound thoughts to convey, so since I never have them I don’t comment, lol. Redbeard is very nice, he never yells at me for my silliness.

      I know! Breakfast Club! We probably even have it still on VHS which is silly as we’d have nothing to play it on.

    • I just blab too much, that’s all. Believe me, I’m not scary!

      (Well, not too much, anyway. That pirate thing, you know.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

