F2P … Hahaha …

behindyouCrap! Crap! Is he still there? NO! Don’t look at him! Just nod or something … okay, he’s still there? That wolf’s been following me for the … yeah, he’s my companion. I made it until login the third day and then I HAD to spend money to get a companion, just had to. But I mean you’ve got to admit she looks scared to death.

I think I made some terrible, wrong, choices at the character creation screen. Either that or a Half-Elf is supposed to look that way. I’ll have to look into it. Maybe she’ll throw the bad guys off with that look, they’ll think she’s easy pickings and underestimate her, yeah, could work out okay.

So I’ve been having a good time trying to figure out what’s going on. I imagine at some point I’ll have to spent oodles to respec the mess I’m probably making. Got to level ten and got access to professions so I’ve been logging in and out making stuff and then I occasionally go kill some bad guys.

I saw people running around with what looked like maybe Hunter pets, investigated and found you could have a fighting companion. I must have one! I told myself it was only fair to plunk down some real money since I was having fun with their game, but really I don’t think it was that I was feeling altruistic towards Cryptic, I really just wanted a wolf to run around with.

Yeah, I’m a F2P sucker. The word will probably get out. HERE SHE COMES! Break out the pets! She falls for it every time! I’m not big on spending money on clothes for standing around town but I’m hell on those pets.

Neverwinter’s most interesting feature to me so far is The Foundry. Player-created content. Have you ever thought you could have made a better quest? Here’s your chance. I’ve done one Foundry quest so far, it was excellent. One of my pet peeves in games are those quests where you stand there scratching your head wondering what to do next, I’m looking at you scenarios. The player-authored quest I did flowed smoothly, was engaging and yay, loot!

It’s like I’m on summer vacation! Anyway, time to get back to Azeroth and once again assault the denizens of Serpentshrine Cavern. So far Morogrim Tidewalker refuses to hand over that pet and Lady Vashj? I can’t get past three tainted cores. Maybe the eleventy hundredth time will be the charm!

18 Responses to “F2P … Hahaha …”

  1. You know, I have to give Cryptic kudos for trying to make the NPCs’ mouths move with the vocals, but boy is that off. I suppose I’m just used to how good TOR’s version is, but Cryptic needs to coordinate things a bit better.

    And…. Hmm… that Neverwinter town music has been a constant earworm in my head the past few days, even though I’ve not played since then. And believe me, I’ve tried to get rid of it by listening to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by Deep Blue Something and “Linger” by The Cranberries. Maybe I ought to try some Rush or something….

    The Foundry seems to be popular enough that it’s starting to creep into Star Trek Online. I haven’t come across any Foundry stuff yet, but I know it’s now there.

    • Ha! It’s in my head too but so far I don’t mind, don’t know how long that will last.

      I’ll have to pay more attention when the NPCs talk, I’m usually distracted by my inability to get used to the different movement. I’m always alting to reposition my mouse.

      I was really impressed by the one Foundry quest I did, don’t know if I just got lucky or they’re all this well done.

  2. If only another game was F2P…

  3. You have a wolf companion in me when we assault Lady Vaj….I’m yours!

  4. whats “F2P” mean?

    • Free to play, but games vary on how painful they are to play if you don’t actually pay for some addons like bags.

      This one’s been fine, I didn’t NEED a companion, just wanted one!

      • ah, ok. thanks. a lot of the time (well most, nearly 99.99% of the time to be honest), I dont know what acronyms stand for. Heck I don’t even know if I spelled that right. Maybe I should give it a try. I just don’t want something on my system that opens it up to people. Yes, I built a special computer just for WOW and nothing else. But I am getting tired of WOW because Blizzard is now in the mindset of “here hunter, hunter, hunter. We are raising Iron hwak to 25% but next patch we are taking down the healing from 15% to 10%!” Or “here hunter, hunter, hunter. We gave arcane shot 10% more increase in damage but come next patch we are going to make it cost 50% more focus”.

        So, I was thinking of NWN-Online.

        • The funniest acronym mess up I did was thinking when people said “omw” they were too dainty to say OMG and were saying oh my word when in fact they were saying “on my way,” which is a whole other thing, lol.

  5. Fine. Fine. Remind me to start downloading that thing when I go to bed tonight and I’ll try it.

    • LOL! I’ll be honest, I never met a game that I didn’t like for the first 20 levels. Only WoW stuck for good after that and just maybe SWTOR but so far I’m really enjoying Neverwinter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

