A Crisis of Confidence

bearmopeI’ve played WoW now for over seven years as what could charitably be called a mediocre player. I do not have lightning fast reflexes and if I did, I don’t even think I’d use them as I’m too busy gawking at stuff to pay attention. Usually I’m fine with this but Cat’s in a terrible mope about it. She won’t even come out of bear form and talk to me.

She remembered the other day that she wanted a noodle cart of her very own. She switched to her bear spec, although between you and me she doesn’t know how to bear, and she set off to the Temple of the Jade Serpent to start the quest chain.

Unfortunately Wise Mari went down easily which may have given her false expectations of what was to come. Next was Lorewalker Stonestep where she got The Trial of the Yongol with stupid Frick and Frack or whoever they are. She could not do enough damage and kept switching between them trying to kill them for what seemed FOREVER until at last her health dwindled to nothing. She didn’t even try again. She’s been bear moping ever since.

cimwrathOh, boo hoo … geez … I can’t take this, Cat, you’re such a drama queen. You think you’ve got it bad? Look at what she did to me. She felt I wasn’t APPLYING myself enough learning Destruction so she changed all my gems and enchants and reforged everything. THEN she sent me to the Proving Grounds and said, “There, learn Destruction! And don’t come out until you have.”

There’s me biding a tearful goodbye to my beautiful Wrathguard and now I’m stuck with an icky, globulus, drolling blob. I’m stuck at the seventh round of silver and it will go on my permanent record if I don’t get out of here. My name will be ruined at the Warlock Council so don’t expect sympathy from me Cat! My purple demon is no more.

peerpOh, BOO HOO HOO HOO to the both of you. I was her main in BC, I’ve been an Enhancement Shaman ALL MY LIFE and when I complained that I never, ever got out she gave me a mount as though that would shut me up. I pleaded for a chance. What did she do? Made me an Elemental Shaman and said there, go learn it. Do you know how hard it is to remember I’m not supposed to run right up to things now and start wailing away on them. Range? What do you mean? How … oh, never mind.

So anyway, where is she? She caused all this trouble and then just split? Have you seen her?

fantaPsst! Over here! Yeah, please don’t let on that you’ve seen me. I’m going to hide out over here ’til things calm down. Yeah … when in doubt, make an alt. Isn’t that how it goes?

28 Responses to “A Crisis of Confidence”

  1. Maybe… if I could tear myself from the Timeless Isle. Then again, I think I have too many alts anyway. I just like being on my priest all the time.

  2. You were trying to do this solo? I just queued up for the specific dungeon and it was easy with a full group. I’d suggest taking another person with you for the noodle cart guy at the end because that fight can be a real pain solo.

    I’m also willing to bet that there will be at least one other person in the dungeon on the noodle cart quest and you can help each other out ;)

    Yeah…my best-geared Priest has yet to get Silver in that stupid flipping Proving Grounds. I refuse to believe I’m really that terrible :D

  3. Not sure if I should get out the full finger-wag or just a ‘tsk tsk’ – both are pretty powerful: go back to the class(es) you love. Ask for help. Be an enhancement shammy – get over the two-hander thing (that’s for DKs and ret pallies anyway –ew, gross!). There. Problem solved. You’re welcome. :)

    • You know I kind of like Elemental if I could just get it through my head not to stand toe to toe, lol. She’s all dressed up in the finery everyone send her from the Isle and ready to go but somehow Warlocks and Druids take up all the time, selfish girls.

      • Trust me, more than once Dornaa forgets she needs to stand back a bit…goes to look for her spirit wolves and realizes she left them in her other character’s pocket! :)

  4. Happy to help Cat get her noodle cart any night I’m on. I’m usually scouring Pandaria for bits of old stuff or flowers, so it’s not like it would pull me away from something important :)

  5. Lol at all your alts trying to out-pity-party each other :P

    If I had a level 90 Alliance, I’d love to come help Cat out. I was lucky to have BTH to help my Monk get her noodle carts, and even so I derped up the noodle boss fight in the Jade Serpent Temple and was dead when BTH killed the boss :P

    Oh, the Proving Grounds! Poor Cim, stuck in the Proving Grounds. You’ll get it eventually, I know you can do it!
    The first time I went to the Proving Grounds, I went in blind. I didn’t go back until well after Vixsin had posted her guide to Proving Grounds Endless for resto Shamans — her advice on dispel priorities and what waves you really need to use CC on is good for all classes. If I ever do it as DPS or Tank, I’ll probably do the same thing — go in blind the first time, then find a guide before I try it again.

  6. I’d be happy to help you out too! That noodle cart guy really hurts, so the more the better anyhow. :)
    And if it makes Cat feel any better I wouldn’t want to solo that trial of the yaungol on a tank either.

    • Thank you! I had the hardest time not switching to Cat as I kept thinking I could have done it. But then I remembered I was in bear spec so she probably would have hit like a wet noodle, lol. Sorry bad pun!

  7. Perhaps the OLRG should group and help Cat get her noodle cart before heading to a raid. Should be plenty willing to help her out (myself included).

    • Oh, thank you! She’s such a drama queen laying there forlorn in bear form. I think she took some lessons from my dog who does more or less the same thing when he doesn’t get enough treats in his opinion!

  8. Ugh, I just discovered Proving Ground with Tum. I need to improve my gear just a bit before I succeed at that.

    And a new Goblin, eh?

    • Since I had all 11 slots full on Fenris I thought I should get busy and start filling up Dragonblight now we’ve merged, lol.

      I think it’s normalized down to level 463 so you don’t have to go too far to get it.

      • I had no idea when I got the quest or I wouldn’t have dashed in with blind curiosity. Honestly, it was just the last wave I was having trouble with. Now I know why. :D

  9. Yes, I do have too many alts and I need to get back in there and start working on things again. I haven’t even hit the proving grounds yet. :D

  10. Ah Ancient how I love to read you! Your witty words make me want to make an alt just so I can have exciting cross-lives :)

  11. I had the same problem when I tried to run Mabaho as Elemental, even as Resto I just wanted to rush in and bash heads.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

