A Lifetime of RNG

cloverI know … pathetic. Through circumstances beyond my control I am now reduced to having to show screen shots of real life. I have had to spend WAY more time irl lately than I think is even healthy. Really, enough with the freaking real life already.

As I was wandering around irl I noticed something. Areas of our neighborhood have guardrails to keep people paying too much attention to cell phones from falling a fair distance. Kind of pointless because they just go fall off where there aren’t any guardrails. I noticed that where the rail shades the grass, or rather weeds, it’s darker.

I KNOW! This is what I’ve been doing instead of playing, jeez. Anyway, on close inspection it turns out that clover must like the shade because that’s what the darker area was.

So yeah … big whoop … clover. But it IS a big deal. It brought back memories, as a child I  spent endless hours looking for that one, that elusive, FOUR LEAF CLOVER. I searched endlessly with the optimism only a seven or eight year old has. Might have even been earlier because I remember my gang and I going to the “bacon lot” to hunt them.

Two sisters who lived in the house behind me and the boy from next door and me hunting that clover. Over and over. When we got tired of riding our bikes around with playing cards clothespinned to the spokes, off we’d go, once again, clover hunting.

OMG! It was real life RNG! I’ve been trying to defeat RNG my whole life and didn’t even realize it. I was playing the RNG odds back there in the bacon lot.

I still play rl RNG every time I’m stupid enough to buy a lottery ticket. And here I thought game designers came up with it. Apparently those designers must have hunted clover too.

I have as yet still not found my four leaf clover but I do have one. My high school sweetheart gave me his. I still have it.

Okay … alright … maybe I’m practicing some revisionist history. Maybe I wheedled it out of him. Fussed and whined and begged. It’s an RNG drop … you do what you got to do.

 

15 Responses to “A Lifetime of RNG”

  1. My deep dark secret is that I miss clover hunting too.

  2. I seem to be grinding for that Dandelion Achievement, without any luck on the Four Leaf Clover drop.

    I didn’t get the Lawn Mower mount either.

  3. Oh my, I didn’t know we were clover twins. I am ALWAYS looking for 4 leaf clovers.

    Except… I always find one or even two. Even my daughter has now got the knack of finding them. It must be Australian clover – more lucky than those american ones.

  4. Beautiful post, Tome.

  5. What is this “real life” you speak of? *confused*

    I think I tried “real life” once but I didn’t like the “work” expansion – at all 😉

  6. Random post, but short and sweet nonetheless.

    You can’t escape the RNG!

Leave a Reply

