Flying, PR and Token Protest!

catflyOh … hang on, hang on. Got to get to Ashran … use SW portal and TADA … Cat Flying! And it goes without saying if you’ve been here before, you know that you’re not going to find a well thought, reasoned post on flying. There are many fine posts out there like that … just not here. To make up for that I’ll throw in some screen shots instead.

Okay, here’s what I think the problem is, it’s a PR problem. Blizzard is one of the few companies who actually engage their customers. If I want to talk to an actual living human being at Comcast I have to run the gauntlet of their phone deterrent system and waste 45 minutes of my life. With Blizzard I can tweet a question to a developer and maybe get an answer. This is where it gets dangerous. Game developers aren’t public relations people.

Hazziokostas:

“The world feels larger, feels more dangerous,” he says. “There’s more room for exploration, for secrets, for discovery and overall immersion annoyance in the world. At this point, WE feel that outdoor gameplay in World of Warcraft is ultimately better without flying. WE’re not going to be reintroducing the ability to fly in Draenor, and that’s kind of where WE’re at going forward.”

Three royal we in one paragraph, a public relations person would have known better. And I made the edit there because I’m sure he meant to say annoyance. See what I mean? Talking to people isn’t something that just anyone can handle. I thought Ghostcrawler was better at it myself.

So what can be learned from this? A degree in marine biology is much better preparation for public speaking than a law degree. Who knew! Kinda counter intuitive isn’t it.

And the whole immersion/annoyance thingy, I want to know how WE came to the conclusion that not flying improved immersion. What they need are dirty casual testers and I am as dirty as they come.

I sometimes wonder if they know us dirties are out there. Running around on my 7th alt trying to dig at a digsite in my crappy iLevel 600ish gear. If being murdered by a bunch of angry flowers is immersion okay, you’ve succeeded but it is EXTREMELY annoying so maybe immersion isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

So my annoyance with no flying, was for me at least, more about presentation than substance. I will get along with not flying but I felt my daddy was telling me, “I’ll decide what’s right for you!”

My knee jerk reaction was to protest!

tokenTHERE! Take that Blizzard! I’m not even going to pay you real money! Yeah how do you like my “token” protest! How do … what? WHAT! ARGGGGHHHH! Dammit! So you’re saying I just caused someone to give five dollars more to Blizzard than if I’d just kept paying my sub? Crap.

raynor

I’ll show my displeasure another way. Yeah! I’m not even going to play your game AT ALL! SO THERE! You feeling me Blizzard? You feeling … WHAT?

oh …

sigh …

You know sometimes I feel like us, the community, and Blizzard are like one big, giant dysfunctional family. We generally love each other but we just can’t seem to get along.

Welp, I’m tired after all this typing. I’m tired of trying to not use the word “we,” it’s harder than I thought. Back to Heroes of the Storm where I can get some rest because I spend most of my time dead. Damn you Graves!

6 Responses to “Flying, PR and Token Protest!”

  1. I understand what they mean about making it too easy to level and such but maybe if they added it per zone after you’ve completed all the quests. I’m also playing HotS but can’t seem to do more than 3 matches at a time.

  2. wolfgangcat Says:

    Be on the lookout for a “Tome of Flying” in the Cash Shop for the low introductory price of $39.99.
    Either that or they don’t want to spend the $$$ to fix up all the “cardboard” cutouts we would see if flying were enabled.
    Or maybe both…
    Immersion arguments? Nah, I believe it’s more money than aesthetics 😀

Leave a Reply

