MMO Observer Effect

rotun

I am having an almost uncontrollable urge to rant. I don’t think it’s WoW I think it’s from watching too much  coverage of the U.S. presidential election spectacle. I should know better.

Cat is bored, it’s not that she doesn’t have things she could do it’s just that she doesn’t want to do them. 700 odd pet battles to get her monument … nope.

Continue on with the legendary quest line she’s on … nope.

Archaeology … nope, nope, nope.

She was so bored that she went into Proving Grounds … I know this is ridiculous but it doesn’t hurt to check does it … to see if she could walk out the door and have a quick port to Warbringers. Yeah … no, of course not.

Old Rotun eyed her expectantly.

I did SO not come in here for your stupid proving grounds Rotun. It’s … well … STUPID.

I am NEVER trying for gold, it’s boring and means nothing, I mean as far as determining my skill or lack of it in groups.

There is no one else in here with me, don’t you get it? I can act like I have some sense in here because I’m alone. There’s no MMO Observer Effect in here.

In science, the term observer effect refers to changes that the act of observation will make on a phenomenon being observed.

Okay, they are talking about science there but trust me there’s an MMO Observer Effect. I can’t be the only one who suffers from MMOOE. I  don’t know if it’s a side-effect of introversion or some other ism but it’s real.

So anyone who thinks someone like me completing silver proving grounds means it’s safe to group with me is sadly mistaken, it’s a crappy yard stick of skill for those with MMOOE. You’ll die horribly because I’ll devolve into an idiot who forgets EVERYTHING she knows because she’s being observed.

Common sense tells me, FFS no one is paying you any attention would you calm down but nope. Can’t do it.

So take that Rotun! Your stupid, stupidhead proving groups are absolutely worthless in determining the skill of what could be a large portion of the MMO population.

Wow, I feel better now that I had a rant.

So what do you want to do now Cat? Warbringers?

Sure, and maybe fish for those Tiny Carp we don’t have.

Sounds like a plan, let’s do it!

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “MMO Observer Effect”

  1. Can’t wait until I move and get my internet back to normal. I’ve missed playing. Lovely post.

  2. Oh, good luck with the mounts and pets.

  3. Right there with you. Ugh.

  4. I finally gave up on the Proving Grounds on any of my characters – next pass, I’ll go in there naked as some of them have suggested with just my weapon – sounds like a plan.

Leave a Reply

