Ironsally Considers Life on a PvP Server

reaversWhile trying to level Sally, I keep getting an uneasy feeling. A scary, creepy, uneasy kind of feeling. A hairs-on-the-back-of-your-neck-raising feeling and I finally put my finger on what it was like. I am CONSTANTLY drifting through reaver space and reaver space is not as empty as I had hoped. Middle of the day, weekdays … there be reavers.

For those of you not familiar with the Firefly Series, reavers are … wait, here’s a description from someone with first-hand experience.

  “If they take the ship, they’ll rape us to death, eat our flesh, and sew our skins into their clothing. And, if we’re very, very lucky, they’ll do it in that order.”
    ― Zoë Washburne

But the thing is, sometimes they’re sated. Sometimes if you stay calm and hold your ground and don’t run … they’ll leave you alone. Every time Sally sees the opposite faction she feels like she’s passing a reaver ship in deep space. Sometimes they leave her alone … sometimes they don’t and sometimes she doesn’t even see them coming.

She generally sees Horde approaching and thinks, “Oh CRAP CRAP CRAP!” Okay … be calm, act cool. Yeah … I’m bad. I’m bad, don’t even think about going there … yeah, you don’t want to mix it up with me, move along. YOU DON’T WANT ANY PART OF ME BUDDY! Oh geez … whew … they’re gone. That was close.

Her other technique if she has time, is to fly straight up into the stratosphere and hope they leave. Geez, damn reavers.

It certainly adds some excitement to leveling Sally but I think this is going to be a long, long, trip. And sometimes the reavers strike from behind, you don’t even have warning.

collguardianI know I’m on a PvP server. I’m not complaining about being killed but really, the timing sucked. She was on the quest Colossal Guardians. To kill one of these bad boys is an enormous production of healing Void, bandaging, fearing, and it takes about five minutes at least. He came along and killed her at about 4:55. He killed her and then did the quest. Guess he couldn’t wait. That’s how those reavers roll.

flyingdeathReally reavers? Shouldn’t you be in school? At work? What is up here. But it’s all good, every time she gets killed I get to enjoy flying death again. I miss that. I think she has yet to be killed by a mob since starting to 90 … just reavers. Will she make it? I truly don’t know but I’m enjoying the trip so far … well, at least until one of those reavers use her skin for a pair of underoos.

18 Responses to “Ironsally Considers Life on a PvP Server”

  1. We were on a PvP server for a long time. I started playing when my husband already had established characters on the server, so I joined the same one. However, it quickly became obvious I was rubbish at PvP.

    My survival strategy was just to die and not fight back – there’s no fun for them then. Unfortunately, it got to a point where it was getting ridiculous – I had no gear and couldn’t get dailies done without spending half an hour dead waiting for people to stop corpse camping.

    It was move or quit… so I went to a PvE server and don’t regret a minute. A few individuals can spoil the game for someone or everyone. A shame really!

    • Nothing would make me willingly roll on a PvP server but this poor character got transferred there because I wanted a Minfernal pet. I got one, yay! But now I don’t want to spend the money to transfer her back, lol. She’s my WoW Ironman character so she’s pretty used to dying poor girl.

      All my regular characters are safely on PvE servers thank goodness!

  2. Iron anything on a pvp server sounds like my worst nightmare!!

  3. lol I agree with you about the worth of a minifernal 🙂 I’ve yet to see one, I’m sure they sneak out right as I leave the zone…
    I’ve got a little set of toons i’m levelling on a pvp server, they’re yet to see another person let alone someone from the opposing faction yet (thats the beatuty of levelling up in arathi i guess), No idea what I’ll do the first time I do.

    • I know! I got one almost instantly after I transferred! I’ve thought of trying to level a character on a pvp server. I am terrible at pvp and usually just stand there in shock while they beat me to death, maybe it would toughen me up, lol!

      Good luck on that first time!

  4. Reavers! I love it! Your Ironsally must have guts of steel to just keep leveling even knowing there are reavers out there. If I had had any clue what I was doing when I first made my toon I would never have put her on a pvp server. But it seems that’s where I always end up. And I’m starting to get used to it. It becomes real fun when you can not only just escape the reavers but kick their butt to the curve.

    • The one thing my son-in-law impressed on me before I created my first character was pick a PVE server, lol.

      I imagine that would be a LOT of fun to beat up the reavers, every once in a while I think about starting a character on a pvp server and then chicken out. With Sally it’s easy as with no talents or gear I don’t feel I have to attempt to fight back.

  5. That crazy Ironsally, Ironmanning on a pvp server…she likes to live life on the edge I see. I think I’d spend half my time leveling running away and hiding on a pvp server, hehe. 😛

    • I think the fact that she has no gear or talents is very liberating to her, lol. The pressure’s off she doesn’t have to try to defend herself but if it gets too bad I might have to move her but right now she’s fine with it. She just watches as the reavers slowly move past … hopefully.

  6. I started playing WoW on a PvP server (Stormscale-US), and my playing style certainly reflects that. My big line when people ask me about PvP servers is that I still get twitchy around Tarren Mill, no matter which toon I’m on.

    One thing I definitely learned from PvP servers was to be ready for anything. And I do mean anything. I was once on at 6 AM (which is 3 AM server time, since Stormscale is on the west coast), and I was cruising through Arathi Highlands on Q. I hadn’t seen a soul all night, so I relaxed momentarily as I approached Stromgarde. I’d just fought my way through the first two waves when suddenly I found myself needing to release. A max level (then L80) Rogue had settled in and was merely waiting for the opportune moment to gang the unwary.

    That was one of the few times I took the spirit healer debuff rather than run back, because I saw the Alliance Rogue settle back into his hiding spot.

    • I can’t even imagine leveling that way. The first time I took my computer to the repair place I use he saw I had WoW installed and asked, PvP server? When I said no he kind of pshawed as though I didn’t REALLY play WoW then, lol.

      • Yeah, the PvP servers do teach you the value of caution. I’m not that impressed by a lot of the players on those servers, but faction camraderie is definitely much higher on those servers, tho. The PvP battles in Crystalsong that developed off of the old Valentine’s Day events were pretty epic.

  7. LOL, priorities right? All Hordies aren’t that bad at least, I would have left you alone but I can’t speak for everyone.

  8. Roo the Hunter Says:

    Iron Sally is the named of the feral cat I adopted. 😀

    Well, you are made of better stuff than me.

    Take care.

  9. […] with the Enhancement specialization. I’ve very much enjoyed to not having to be always looking over my shoulder for Reavers, though, and the dailies areas on Bloodhoof are still busy enough with Horde and Alliance alike […]

Leave a comment